The Sydney, Iwanter and Neilma Sidney Prizes

The sidney prize is an esteemed award presented to individuals who have made significant contributions to their community. Typically awarded in science or business fields, it recognizes those who have worked tirelessly towards meeting their goals while working as part of a group or collectively towards reaching those objectives. It can even be presented for work done collectively by more than one individual.

Before applying for the Sydney Prize, applicants should review its requirements in detail, such as what type of work must be submitted as well as any criteria that must be fulfilled. As the application process may be lengthy and time consuming, preparation is key in order to be successful.

The Sydney Peace Prize honors world leaders who work tirelessly towards peace with justice, human rights and non-violence. Previous recipients have included Julian Burnside, Mary Robinson, Patrisse Cullors and Opal Tometi; every year the foundation selects one nominee who has shown exceptional courage, integrity and leadership towards creating a more equitable world. Donate today and help support future Laureates!

Fred Clasen-Kelly and Carol Motsinger won a Sydney Prize for their in-depth investigation of how Greenville’s celebrated urban renewal program affected Black community in Greenville. It uncovered an interwoven web of money, race and betrayal.

Since 1968, the Hillman Foundation has recognized writers and journalists whose investigative reporting and deep storytelling serve the public good. Over this time period, prizes worth thousands have been distributed among contributors from daily papers, periodicals, labor media outlets as well as authors, broadcasters, scholars as well as authors, broadcasters and scholars – you can donate online here to support this important initiative!

The Iwanter Prize is an annual award of $2,000 presented to graduating senior who best exemplify outstanding humanities-based scholarship across many fields and disciplines. It was named in memory of Sidney E. Iwanter, an active alumnus and longtime trustee of the University of Wisconsin Foundation who passed away earlier in his career.

The Neilma Sidney Short Story Prize, co-hosted by the Malcolm Robertson Foundation and Overland magazine, seeks original short fiction loosely themed around travel. Julie Koh, Alice Robinson and Mykaela Saunders faced the formidable task of selecting eight stories out of 400 submissions this year; one will be chosen as the winning tale and two runners-up stories will be republished online. Judges will write short notes about each finalist; the winner receives $5000 while two runners-up each will receive $2750. This competition is open to writers from around the world; however, all work submitted must be written in English and targeted at an American audience; self-nominations is welcome.

Categories: Gambling Blog